Buyer's guide · EOR Vietnam
Best employer of record in Japan (2026 buyer's guide)
A vendor-neutral way to shortlist an employer of record (EOR) in Japan: a dated snapshot of providers that genuinely employ there, the published prices they show on their own pages, the Japanese statutory essentials any EOR must handle, where EOR meets the Worker Dispatching Act, what the arrangement really costs, and a checklist before you sign.
US$149
per employee per month, flat, for Vietnamese nationals. No setup or hidden fees.
Get a quoteThis guide is published by EOR Vietnam, which sells employer-of-record services in Vietnam only and does not employ anyone in Japan. It appears below in a single row and one short section as the pick for the Vietnam part of an Asia team — nothing more. We receive no payment from any provider listed, and we do not publish numeric scores or a ranked order. Every figure is taken from a source we opened while writing and is stated as of October 2026; prices and rates change, so confirm the current position before you rely on it. This is general information, not legal or tax advice. The only contact for this site is info@eorvietnam.vn.
How did we build this shortlist?
There is no single “best employer of record in Japan” for every buyer, and any provider claiming the title is selling rather than informing. So this is not a ranked list and it carries no scores. Instead we name providers that publicly offer EOR employment in Japan, record only what each states on its own public page accessed in October 2026, and attach a plain “best for” label that describes the use case each one fits — its pricing model, its entity model and the kind of team it suits — not a claim that it beats the others.
For each provider we note who it suits; whether it says it employs through its own legal entity or a local partner (only where the provider states it); its published starting price, quoted exactly, or “Quote on request” where none is shown; and one neutral watch-out. A published monthly fee always sits on top of gross salary and the employer's Japanese statutory contributions. Inclusion is not endorsement, and the list is not exhaustive. In Japan the entity question matters more than in most markets, for a legal reason we set out below.
| Provider | Best for | Own entity or partner | Published starting price | One watch-out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deel | Hiring across many countries from one platform | Acts as legal employer; own-vs-partner not specified for Japan on the page reviewed | From US$599 per employee / month (contractor management US$49) 1 | Confirm whether a Deel-owned Japanese entity or a partner signs the contract, and which add-ons are extra. |
| G-P (Globalization Partners) | Enterprises wanting a long-established global platform | Acts as the legal employer; states a flat platform fee, not a percentage of payroll | From US$599 per month for one employee 2 | Oriented to larger deployments; check exactly what the flat fee includes for a single Japanese hire. |
| Oyster | Distributed teams wanting one flat per-seat fee | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | US$699 per employee / month (annual discount offered) 3 | The per-country entity model is not shown on the pricing page; ask who the legal employer is in Japan. |
| Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) | Buyers wanting a licence-heavy global platform | Acts as legal employer; entity-vs-partner model not stated on the page reviewed | Quote on request (no public per-seat price) 4 | Rebranded from Velocity Global in September 2025; no published Japan price, so contact sales to compare like-for-like. |
| Playroll | A mid-priced flat fee with no minimum commitment | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | From US$399 per employee / month 5 | Entity model is not disclosed on the pricing page; confirm the employing entity for Japan. |
| Remote | Buyers who want a provider-owned entity model | Remote is the legal employer and states it owns its local entities (no entity of your own needed) | US$699 per employee / month 6 | Among the higher published per-seat fees; weigh that against the owned-entity model it describes. |
| RemoFirst | The lowest published per-seat fee | Partner model — vetted in-country partners (stated) | From US$199 per person / month 7 | Because a vetted local partner is the legal employer, confirm in writing which entity signs and remits shakai hoken. |
| Skuad | A low flat fee with volume discounts | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | From US$199 per employee / month 8 | Entity model is not shown on the pricing page; confirm the employing entity for Japan. |
| EOR Vietnam (publisher) | Vietnam only — for the Vietnam side of a team | Vietnam-registered entity, named in the written quote | Flat US$149 per employee / month for Vietnamese nationals; foreign hires quoted separately | Does not employ in Japan; use one of the providers above for the Japanese hire. |
Prices are each provider's own published list figures on the date accessed in October 2026 and will change; confirm the current number before relying on it. “Not stated” means the fact was absent from the page we read. Providers whose Japan page could not be opened on the day are left out rather than described from memory.
Two patterns stand out. Global platforms cluster their flat fee between roughly US$199 and US$699 per employee a month, and the gap often tracks the entity model: a provider that owns its local entity (Remote) tends to price above a partner-model provider (RemoFirst). And because Japan draws a hard legal line between genuine employment and worker dispatch, the single most useful question you can ask is who the employing entity actually is — the next section explains why. For the wider landscape see our comparison of EOR services and Deel alternatives, or the neighbouring guides to the best EOR in Singapore and best EOR in Hong Kong.
Is an employer of record lawful in Japan?
Yes — but the structure matters, because Japan has no statute called “EOR” and the real boundary is the Worker Dispatching Act (the Act for Securing the Proper Operation of Worker Dispatching Undertakings). Under that Act, an arrangement in which one company employs a worker while another company directs the worker's day-to-day work is haken (worker dispatch), and running it as a business needs a licence from the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. That is exactly the shape of many EOR set-ups, because you, the client, direct the work. Some providers describe their Japan service as direct employment under the Labour Contract Act and the Labour Standards Act;9 others run it through a licensed dispatch entity. Which applies depends on how the work is really organised, so ask the provider which structure it uses and, if it is dispatch, for its licence number — and take Japanese legal advice on a borderline case.
The distinction has a practical consequence. Worker dispatch is a licensed activity: an agency that dispatches labour must hold a dispatch licence from the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. A true EOR, where the provider is itself the employer rather than a staffing intermediary that lends you people, does not fall under that licensing regime — no separate “EOR licence” exists.9 The risk is that an arrangement marketed as EOR is operated in substance like unlicensed dispatch. So the compliant pattern is a provider that is a registered Japanese employer, signs the employment contract in its own name, enrols the worker in social insurance and runs payroll — while you direct the day-to-day work through a service agreement. That is why the entity question in the table above carries more weight in Japan than in many markets: a provider that owns and names a Japanese employing entity gives you the cleaner footing. The parallel question — whether employing through an EOR creates a taxable presence for the foreign parent — we treat in general terms for Vietnam under what an EOR is; in Japan, as anywhere, it turns on the facts and the relevant tax treaty, so take local advice. This section is general information, not legal advice.
What Japanese employer essentials must an EOR handle?
Whoever is the legal employer carries the full set of Japanese statutory duties. The table below is the core an EOR must get right in 2026, each line sourced to the instrument in force and dated. The heaviest predictable layer is social insurance (shakai hoken) — health insurance, long-term care, employees' pension, employment insurance and workers' accident compensation — most of which is split roughly in half between employer and employee, so the employer share is lighter than headline rates suggest.
| Item | What applies in 2026 | Instrument & effective date |
|---|---|---|
| Employees' pension (kosei nenkin) | Contribution 18.3% of standard monthly remuneration, split equally — 9.15% employer, 9.15% employee. The pension standard-remuneration grade is capped (currently ¥650,000 a month). | Rate fixed since the final scheduled rise in September 2017; administered by the Japan Pension Service under MHLW.10 |
| Health insurance (kenko hoken) | For the national association (Kyokai Kenpo), the Tokyo rate is 9.85% of standard monthly remuneration, split ~4.925% each. Rates are set per prefecture; the FY2026 national average is 9.90%. | Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo) FY2026 rates, applied from the March 2026 premium (April payment).11 |
| Long-term care insurance (kaigo hoken) | Added for employees aged 40–64: 1.62% nationwide, split 0.81% each, on top of health insurance. | Kyokai Kenpo FY2026 nationwide long-term-care rate, from the March 2026 premium.11 |
| Child-rearing levies | Child-rearing contribution (kyoshutsukin) of 0.36% on pension remuneration, employer only. A new child-rearing support levy adds 0.23% to health-insurance premiums, split 0.115% each. | Contribution rate per the Japan Pension Service; the support levy began April 2026.12 |
| Employment insurance (koyo hoken) | For general businesses, total 1.35% — employer 0.85%, employee 0.5% (the employer also funds the two employment-support schemes within that share). | MHLW FY2026 (令和8年度) employment-insurance rate, effective 1 April 2026 (down 0.1 point).13 |
| Workers' accident compensation (rosai) | Paid entirely by the employer. The rate is set by industry; for general office and service businesses it is 0.3% (3 per 1,000) of wages. | MHLW workers'-accident premium-rate table in force for FY2024–FY2026.14 |
| Minimum wage (Tokyo) | Tokyo's hourly minimum rose to ¥1,280, a ¥54 increase — the highest of any prefecture. Minimum wages are set per prefecture, so rates elsewhere differ. | Tokyo Regional Minimum Wage Council revision, effective 1 October 2026.15 |
| Annual paid leave | 10 days after six months' continuous service (with 80% attendance), rising with tenure to 20 days. Where an employee is entitled to 10+ days, the employer must ensure at least 5 days are actually taken each year. | Labour Standards Act Article 39; the 5-day take-up duty has applied since 1 April 2019.16 |
| Working hours & overtime | Statutory hours are 8 per day and 40 per week. Overtime needs a filed Article 36 agreement and is capped at 45 hours a month and 360 a year; special-circumstances limits allow up to 720 hours a year, under 100 in any month and an average under 80. | Labour Standards Act Articles 32 and 36 (work-style-reform caps).17 |
| Termination & notice | At least 30 days' advance notice, or 30 days' pay in lieu. A dismissal must also have an objective, socially acceptable reason or it is void — the substantive bar is high. | Labour Standards Act Article 20 (notice); Labour Contract Act Article 16 (abuse-of-dismissal rule).18 |
| Foreign hires (status of residence) | Most white-collar foreign staff need the Engineer / Specialist in Humanities / International Services status — generally a relevant bachelor's degree (or equivalent experience) and a matching role, via a Certificate of Eligibility. | Immigration Services Agency (ISA); Certificate of Eligibility obtained before the visa.19 |
General information, not legal or tax advice. Statutory figures are current as of October 2026 and change — social-insurance rates revise most years and the Tokyo wage order took effect on 1 October 2026 — so confirm each before you rely on it. Health, long-term-care and pension contributions are assessed on standard-remuneration grades with upper caps, not on raw salary.
What does an employer of record in Japan cost?
An EOR invoice has three parts: the employee's gross salary, the employer's statutory contributions, and the provider's fee. Japan's social-insurance layer is substantial but shared — because health insurance, long-term care, employees' pension and most of employment insurance are split roughly in half, the employer's own on-cost lands at around a sixth of salary, not the headline rates added together. The illustration below takes a monthly gross of ¥500,000 and shows the employer's recurring on-cost using the Tokyo rates in force as of October 2026. It excludes the provider fee, which you add from the shortlist above.
| Line | Monthly amount (¥) | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | 500,000 | Employee pay |
| Health insurance employer (~4.925%) | ~24,600 | Tokyo Kyokai Kenpo rate, split in half11 |
| Long-term care employer (0.81%, age 40–64) | ~4,050 | Applies only to staff aged 40–6411 |
| Employees' pension employer (9.15%) | ~45,750 | Standard-remuneration grade (capped)10 |
| Child-rearing levies employer (~0.48%) | ~2,375 | 0.36% contribution + 0.115% support levy12 |
| Employment insurance employer (0.85%) | 4,250 | General-business rate13 |
| Workers' accident compensation (0.3%) | 1,500 | Employer-only; general-business rate14 |
| Employer on-cost before the provider fee | ~82,500 | About 16.5% of gross (about 15.7% for staff under 40) |
Illustrative and rounded; health, long-term-care and pension amounts in practice use standard-remuneration grades with upper caps, so the percentage on-cost falls as salary rises past those caps. Add the provider's own monthly fee (for example US$199–US$699 on the shortlist, or “Quote on request”) to reach the all-in cost.
So a Japanese EOR costs the gross salary, roughly a sixth again in employer social insurance, and the provider's fee on top. Two levers matter when comparing: whether the fee is flat per employee or a percentage of payroll, and whether a deposit, setup, onboarding or offboarding charge applies. A provider that itemises salary, statutory on-cost and fee as separate lines is easier to compare than one quoting a single blended number — and in Japan it also lets you check that social insurance is being enrolled and remitted correctly.
A checklist for choosing an EOR in Japan
Use these questions with any provider, including the publisher of this page. They map to the law and costs above, and a provider that answers them clearly and in writing is one you can properly assess.
- Who is the legal employer? Name the Japanese-registered entity that signs the employment contract, and confirm whether it employs directly or as a licensed dispatch business, and see the licence if it is dispatch.
- Own entity or partner? Does the provider employ through its own Japanese entity or a local partner — and if a partner, who signs the contract and who enrols and remits shakai hoken?
- Is the fee flat or a percentage? Get the monthly fee in writing, plus any deposit, setup, onboarding or offboarding charge and any foreign-exchange spread.
- How is social insurance handled? Confirm who enrols the worker and remits health, long-term care, pension, employment insurance and workers'-accident premiums, and who administers the year-end tax adjustment.
- Can it sponsor foreign hires? If you need a non-Japanese employee, confirm it runs the Certificate of Eligibility and Engineer / Specialist in Humanities / International Services process end to end.
- How is termination handled? Ask how it manages the 30-day notice, pay in lieu, and the high substantive bar for a valid dismissal — the areas where mistakes are costly.
Hiring in Japan and Vietnam?
Many teams scaling across Asia hire in more than one country at once — often a Japan hire alongside a larger engineering or operations team in Vietnam. For the Japan part of such a team, choose one of the providers in the shortlist above; EOR Vietnam cannot and does not employ anyone in Japan. Where we fit is narrow and specific: the Vietnam part of the same team. If you are a Japanese company weighing that Vietnam side, our dedicated guide to EOR Vietnam for Japanese companies sets out the Japan–Vietnam social-security and tax-treaty position in detail.
EOR Vietnam is a Vietnam-only employer of record. For Vietnamese nationals our service fee is a flat US$149 per employee per month — the same whatever the salary, role, seniority, city in Vietnam or headcount, as of October 2026 — and foreign nationals who need a Vietnamese work permit are quoted separately. There are no setup, onboarding, offboarding, contract or payslip fees. Gross salary and the roughly 23.5% employer statutory contributions for Vietnamese staff are passed through at cost, and we hold a refundable deposit equal to two months of the employee's total employment cost, returned at the end of the engagement less any unpaid amounts. We employ through a Vietnam-registered entity that is named in your written quote.
If Vietnam is in scope, read how an EOR works in Vietnam, how to choose a Vietnam provider, the full Vietnam payroll and employer-cost breakdown, and the rules on social insurance for foreign employees if you are posting a Japanese national in. For other markets in the region, see our guides to the best EOR in the Philippines and best EOR in Indonesia, or browse all Vietnam employer guides.
Frequently asked questions
Is using an employer of record legal in Japan?
Yes, when it is structured lawfully. Japan has no dedicated “EOR” statute. If the provider's Japanese entity employs the worker while your company directs the daily work, the arrangement has the shape of worker dispatch (haken), which must be run by a business licensed by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare; some providers instead describe their service as direct employment under the Labour Contract Act. Ask which structure the provider uses, which Japanese entity signs the contract and, for dispatch, its licence number.
Does an EOR in Japan need a worker-dispatch licence?
It depends on how the arrangement works. Where the EOR's Japanese entity employs the worker but your company directs the day-to-day work, that is the pattern of worker dispatch (haken), and running it as a business needs a licence from the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. Some providers say their model is direct employment that falls outside the dispatch regime. Because the line turns on the facts, ask the provider to show its dispatch licence or explain in writing why one is not needed, and take Japanese legal advice on a borderline case.
What does an EOR cost in Japan?
Three layers: the gross salary; the employer's social insurance; and the provider's fee. Because Japanese social insurance is largely split in half, the employer's own on-cost is around 16% of salary at mid-range pay — employees' pension 9.15%, health insurance about 4.9% (Tokyo), long-term care 0.81% for staff aged 40–64, employment insurance 0.85%, workers'-accident compensation 0.3%, and small child-rearing levies. On top sits the provider's fee, which on the shortlist above ranges from published figures of about US$199 to US$699 per employee a month, or “Quote on request”.
What are the Japanese employer social-insurance rates for 2026?
As of October 2026: employees' pension 18.3% split 9.15% each; Kyokai Kenpo health insurance in Tokyo 9.85% split about 4.925% each (national average 9.90%); long-term care 1.62% split 0.81% each for employees aged 40–64; employment insurance for general businesses 1.35% (employer 0.85%, employee 0.5%); workers'-accident compensation 0.3% employer-only for general businesses; plus a 0.36% employer child-rearing contribution and a new 0.23% child-rearing support levy split in half. Health, long-term-care and pension amounts are assessed on standard-remuneration grades with upper caps.
How does notice and termination work in Japan?
An employer must give at least 30 days' advance notice of dismissal or pay 30 days' wages in lieu, under Article 20 of the Labour Standards Act. Separately, a dismissal must have an objective and socially acceptable reason, or it is void as an abuse of the right to dismiss under Article 16 of the Labour Contract Act — the substantive bar is high, so a sound EOR plans terminations carefully. The 30-day rule can be waived only in narrow cases of serious misconduct with labour-office approval.
Can an EOR sponsor a foreign worker in Japan?
A credible provider can. Most white-collar foreign staff use the Engineer / Specialist in Humanities / International Services status of residence, administered by the Immigration Services Agency, which generally needs a relevant bachelor's degree (or equivalent experience) and a role that matches the field. The employer first obtains a Certificate of Eligibility, and the visa is then issued at a Japanese embassy or consulate. Confirm the provider runs both steps and that the role genuinely fits the status.
Can EOR Vietnam employ my staff in Japan?
No. EOR Vietnam employs in Vietnam only and does not employ anyone in Japan. We appear in this guide solely as the option for the Vietnam part of an Asia team. For a Japanese hire, choose one of the providers in the shortlist above; if you also need staff in Vietnam, we can handle that side through a Vietnam-registered entity named in your quote.
Sources
- Deel — pricing page: EOR from US$599 per employee/month; contractor management US$49/month. deel.com/pricing, accessed Oct 2026.
- G-P (Globalization Partners) — Japan employer-of-record page: acts as the legal employer; flat platform fee from US$599 monthly. globalization-partners.com — Japan EOR, accessed Oct 2026.
- Oyster — pricing page: Employer of Record US$699 per employee/month, annual discounts available. oysterhr.com/pricing, accessed Oct 2026.
- Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) — about page: global Employer of Record across 185+ countries; no public per-seat price. hellopebl.com — about, accessed Oct 2026.
- Playroll — pricing page: EOR from US$399 per employee/month, no minimum commitments. playroll.com/pricing, accessed Oct 2026.
- Remote — Japan country page: EOR US$699 per employee/month; Remote is the legal employer and states it owns its local entities. remote.com — Japan, accessed Oct 2026.
- RemoFirst — pricing page: EOR from US$199 per person/month; works through vetted in-country partners. remofirst.com/pricing, accessed Oct 2026.
- Skuad — pricing page: EOR from US$199 per employee/month, volume discounts. skuad.io/pricing, accessed Oct 2026.
- Oyster — “Employers of Record in Japan”: one provider's description of its Japan EOR as direct employment under the Labour Contract Act rather than worker dispatch, noting that worker dispatch (haken) needs a licence. A provider's own view, not legal advice. oysterhr.com — EOR in Japan, accessed Oct 2026.
- Employees' pension (厚生年金保険) rate fixed at 18.3% (9.15% each) since the final scheduled rise in September 2017 — MHLW. mhlw.go.jp — pension rate, accessed Oct 2026.
- Japan Health Insurance Association (Kyokai Kenpo) — FY2026 rates: Tokyo health insurance 9.85% (national average 9.90%) and nationwide long-term-care 1.62%, split equally, from the March 2026 premium. kyoukaikenpo.or.jp, accessed Oct 2026.
- Child-rearing contribution (子ども・子育て拠出金) 0.36% employer-only — Japan Pension Service; and the new child-rearing support levy (子ども・子育て支援金) of 0.23% added to health premiums (0.115% each) from April 2026. nenkin.go.jp — kyoshutsukin and freee — support levy, accessed Oct 2026.
- MHLW — FY2026 (令和8年度) employment-insurance rate: general businesses 1.35% (employer 0.85%, employee 0.5%), effective 1 April 2026, down 0.1 point from 1.45%. mhlw.go.jp — employment insurance, accessed Oct 2026.
- Workers'-accident compensation (労災保険) is paid entirely by the employer; the general-business (“other”) rate is 3 per 1,000 (0.3%) under the MHLW premium-rate table in force for FY2024–FY2026. Chukidan — rosai rates 2026, accessed Oct 2026.
- Tokyo minimum wage raised to ¥1,280 an hour (a ¥54 increase, the highest of any prefecture), effective 1 October 2026 following the Tokyo Regional Minimum Wage Council revision. Nippon.com — FY2026 minimum wages, accessed Oct 2026.
- Labour Standards Act Article 39 — 10 days' paid annual leave after six months' continuous service (80% attendance), rising to 20; employers must ensure at least 5 days are taken where 10+ days are granted, a duty in force since 1 April 2019. L&E Global — Japan employment overview, accessed Oct 2026.
- Labour Standards Act Articles 32 and 36 — statutory hours 8/day and 40/week; overtime under an Article 36 agreement capped at 45 hours/month and 360/year, with special-circumstances limits of 720/year, under 100 in any month and an average under 80 — JETRO. JETRO — working hours, accessed Oct 2026.
- Labour Standards Act Article 20 — 30 days' advance notice of dismissal or 30 days' pay in lieu; the Labour Contract Act (Article 16) voids a dismissal lacking an objective, socially acceptable reason. Matsudo City — working conditions (EN), accessed Oct 2026.
- Immigration Services Agency (ISA) — the Engineer / Specialist in Humanities / International Services status of residence for white-collar foreign staff; a Certificate of Eligibility is obtained before the visa. isa.go.jp — statuses of residence, accessed Oct 2026.